The Mines and Geosciences Bureau (MGB) has opened the nomination process for the 2021 Presidential Mineral Industry Environmental Awards (PMIEA), Safest Mines and Best Mines Personalities Awards, and Best Mining Forest Contest.

Through a Memorandum to all MGB Regional Offices (ROs) dated June 22, 2021, the MGB announced that it will now be accepting nominations from all mining contractors, permittees, and permit holders involved in active exploration, surface or underground operation, quarry operation and mineral processing within the ROs’ respective jurisdiction.

According to the said issuance, the subject awards are “in recognition of the private sector’s initiatives and exemplary achievements in the protection of the environment and ecology to further promote private sector participation, enhance public awareness on the protection of the environment and ecology, and contribute to the growth of the economy and improvement in the quality of life of Filipinos.”

An offsite validation will be conducted to evaluate the safety and health, environmental management, social/community development, and reforestation performance and accomplishments of the contractors/permit/holders/permittees covering the period July 2020 – June 2021.

“The offsite selection processes for the above-mentioned awards shall involve the following activities: call for nomination; pre-evaluation of MGB ROs and endorsement/submission of entries/nomination to MGB Central Office (CO); initial review and evaluation of the Technical Working Group/Technical Secretariat; initial deliberation/shortlisting of PMIEA Selection Committee (SC)/Mining Forest Program-National Executive Committee (MFP-NEC); virtual presentation of contractors/permittees/permit holders; offsite validation; and final deliberation and review of PMIEASC/MFP-NEC,” the MGB added.

All pertinent documents and endorsements from respective ROs shall be submitted to the MGB CO at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. on or before August 20, 2021.